- An informative guide to this popular visitor site
- Beautiful illustrations and engaging text bring the Priory’s history to life
Eight hundred turbulent years of history are reflected in the now peaceful house and gardens of Michelham Priory, explored in this sumptuously illustrated new guide. Founded in 1229 by Augustinian canons, the priory boasts the longest water-filled medieval moat in England. After the dissolution of the monasteries, the main building became a gentleman’s residence until the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries, when Michelham became a tenant farm. Today the Tudor reception rooms, the Elizabethan great barn, the working watermill and the forge all reflect Michelham’s changing role over time, while the glorious grounds offer recreated physic and kitchen gardens and a moat walk, all a haven for wildlife.