The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge
- Colourful and entertaining guide celebrating the newly opened galleries
The Beaney is an art museum and library situated in the heart of the historic city of Canterbury. It was originally built with funds bequeathed by Dr J. G. Beaney for the building of ‘an Institute for Working Men’. Canterbury Corporation persuaded the Charity Commissioners to use the money to build a new museum and library and it opened in 1899.
Following a repair and restoration project, The Beaney House of Art & Knowledge opened its doors to the public in September 2012. This fabulous new facility provides state-of-the-art exhibition galleries, a brand new library, excellent learning facilities and a varied programme of events and activities for all ages.
Explore highlights of the building and collections in this fully illustrated guide. Spanning ancient Egyptian and Greek artefacts, objects from the East Kent area to around the world, birds and butterflies, stained glass, paintings and drawings, the fascinating collections are newly displayed in this historic building and its galleries.